top of page

ARC review: In Limbo by Deb JJ Lee

Updated: Apr 4

Thank you First Second Books and Netgalley for providing me with an eARC in exchange for my honest review!


Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ (5)


Wow, this book got me really emotional. That's how impressed I am. I usually read fiction, so reading non-fiction is always a very different experience. Whenever I see the words 'Graphic Memoir', I always feel like it's gonna be good. Many illustrators are just so skilled at making memoirs and Deb was no different. It had every element you need to tell a good round story. It was an impactful read and I'm sure that a lot of folks will feel very seen reading this story.

I finished the book feeling so proud of Deb and how far they've come. At the end you get a short update on how they're currently doing, which I thought was a really nice addition.

Thank you Deb for being so open with sharing your story.


I highly recommend reading this book, but I do encourage you to look at the content warning, because the book does discuss heavy subjects.


CW: racism, bullying, suicidal thoughts, suicide attempt and domestic abuse

 

bottom of page