top of page

ARC review: Raybearer by Jordan Ifueko

Updated: Sep 29, 2020

Tarisai has always longed for the warmth of a family. She was raised in isolation by a mysterious, often absent mother known only as the Lady. The Lady sends her to the capital of the global empire of Aritsar to compete with other children to be chosen as one of the Crown Prince's Council of Eleven. If she's picked, she'll be joined with the other Council members through the Ray, a bond deeper than blood. That closeness is irresistible to Tarisai, who has always wanted to belong somewhere. But the Lady has other ideas, including a magical wish that Tarisai is compelled to obey: kill the Crown Prince once she gains his trust. Tarisai won't stand by and become someone's pawn--but is she strong enough to choose a different path for herself?

Thank you Blackstone Publishing and Netgalley for providing me with an audio-ARC in exchange for my honest review!


Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ (5)


Mark my words: this is the newest popular fantasy series! It has everything you want from a fantasy and more.

Quite quickly into the story you find out what the main character's job is. What she is ought to do.

This book doesn't slow down. Whenever there is a moment of rest in the book, something happens to quicken the pace.

Jordan Ifueko's writing style is great. It sucked me into the story even more!

Tarisai's situation was very complicated. Many times have I wondered how she would get herself out of the mess. I felt myself on the edge of my seat, rooting for the young woman.


The narrator was perfect for this story! Their voice felt very fitting to the vibe and they were also very good at doing the different voices. That way I can seperate the characters to know who's talking.

I'm not very familiar to audio books - think I've listened to two - but this one is definitely my favorite!


Raybearer is out on August 18th! Pre-order it now!

 

12 views0 comments
bottom of page