top of page

ARC review: Somebody Give This Heart a Pen by Sophia Thakur

Updated: Dec 22, 2020

CW: Anxiety, death and self-harm

A poetry collection that explores the emotions and experiences of growing up as a mixed-race woman.

'With a strong narrative voice and emotional empathy, this is poetry that will resonate with all young people, whatever their background, and whatever their dreams. As she says, she hopes the poems will help readers "grow through what they go through". '

Thank you Netgalley and Candlewick Press for providing me with an e-ARC in exchange for an honest review.


Try to find space to hear what your heart says.

Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ (5)


Somebody Give This Heart a Pen was a masterpiece. I don't usually read poetry, but this one makes me want to read more.

This collection talks about loss, race and relationships in such a raw way. It even teared me up sometimes.

I didn't really read this book fast. The biggest reason is because I wanted to soak in every poem. Every sentence. Every emotion.


As a diamond you can't help but shine when you enter. So see your skin as celebratory.

I didn't expect to relate to some of the poems, but I did and it felt good.

It really did.

It made me feel all kinds of emotions.

Please read this poetry collection. You won't regret it.

I would also recommended this book to people who aren't familiar with poetry and would like to be introduced to the genre.


Somebody Give This Heart a Pen is already out in the UK, but it will hit shelves in the US on September 8th! You can already pre-order it at your local (Indie) bookstore.


Why do these arms not drop into wings when I hold you?
 

11 views0 comments
bottom of page