top of page

ARC review: You Don't Have to Be Everything - Multiple authors

Updated: Aug 1, 2023

Thank you Workman Publishing and Netgalley for providing me with an eARC in exchange for my honest review!

You Don't Have to Be Everything is a poetry collection in which poets talk about their experiences with growing up in this world.


Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ (3,5)


It's always difficult to review books written by multiple authors. One story is usually better than the other.

Overall I really enjoyed the poetry collection. These stories were very personal and I appreciated how openly they wrote about their struggles. I'm sure people can relate to some of these stories!

The idea behind this book, I think, is that you read the chapters that fit your mood. If you are sad you read the stories about sadness and so on. It's such a good idea, because sometimes when you're going through a certain emotion, you want to be able to relate to someone who is/was also going through it.

You can pick this book back up whenever you need it.

My favorite thing was the illustrations included in this collection. They were so beautiful and added to the stories. I had to take a moment to appreciate the beauty of these colorful illustrations before continuing with the next story.

I also really liked to see the LGBTQ+ representation.


'You Don't Have to Be Everything' comes out on March 30th 2021!


CW: mention of depression, rape, eating disorders and fatphobia (I hope I didn't forget any)

 

20 views0 comments
bottom of page