top of page

Review: The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

Updated: Dec 22, 2020

!WARNING! This review may contain spoilers. This book is a sequel to Dash & Lily's Book of Dares! Read my mini spoiler-free review of that book here.

It's been roughly a year after Dash and Lily met and a lot has happened.

Lily's grandfather was hospitalized and when he got back home, Lily decided to take care of him. This caused Lily to not feel the holiday cheer, she usually had.

Therefore Dash and Lily's brother, Langston, try to lift her holiday spirit before Christmas arrives.


Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ (3,5)


The first book, Dash & Lily's Book of Dares, was such a cute read. I really enjoyed it a lot and might reread it some time around Christmas.

Sadly, I didn't enjoy the sequel as much.

The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily was still cute and I liked it, but it lacked the Christmas feeling for some reason.


Something that bothered me was a point in the book where Lily started blaming Dash, his parents and their divorce for what happened in the current and previous chapter. That was very unnecessary.


Besides that Lily wasn't a very enjoyable character in this book, I did like the other characters.

Parents aren't normally mentioned in YA books, so I liked it that they had a role in this books. Lily's parents are together and Dash's parents are divorce, so we get to read about two sides of a marriage.


I recommend you to only read Dash & Lily's Book of Dares. I really loved that book. This book was a nice read, but not nearly as enjoyable as it's predecessor.

 

4 views0 comments
bottom of page