top of page

Review: 36 Questions that Changed My Mind about You by Vicki Grant

Updated: Dec 22, 2020

Would you rather read this review in Dutch? No problem! If you scroll down a little more, you'll find my Dutch review.


Rating: ☆ ☆ (2)


English review:

Doubting between 1,5 or 2 stars, so I'm going ahead and give it 2...

Sometimes I regret my rule that I can't DNF books... why did I make this rule, you ask? Because I don't want to give up on a bad book that easy. I have faith that it gets better and that I end up liking the book more. That doesn't happen a lot. That didn't happen with this book.

I'm so sad about books that have a good premise, but a terrible execution. Like this book. The premise would mean a fluffy contemporary. A delicious summer read. But no no no, it was boring and it seemed to have no plan. It felt like the author just went with the flow and wrote whatever came up in her mind on the spot.

I wasn't rooting for the two main characters, at all. The only person I was rooting for was a side character. Hildy's little brother, Gabe. Hashtag-gabe-deserved-better.


Dutch review:


1,5 ster of 2 sterren... ik twijfel... Nou laat ik dan maar voor het hoogste gaan en dit boek twee sterren geven.

Soms heb ik spijt van mijn regel dat ik geen boeken mag DNF'en... waarom heb ik deze regel, vraag je je af? Omdat ik een boek niet wil opgeven. Ik heb de hoop dat het boek beter wordt en dat ik het uiteindelijk leuker ga vinden. Dat gebeurt niet vaak. Dat gebeurde niet met dit boek.

Ik baal van boeken die een goede plot hebben, maar een slechte uitvoering. Zoals bij dit boek. Het plot zou betekenen dat dit boek een schattige contemporary is. A delicious summer read. Maar nee nee nee, het saai en had volgens mij geen duidelijk plan. Het voelde alsof de auteur gewoon maar schreef wat er op dat moment in haar hoofd op kwam.

De hoofdpersonen boeide mij ook niet. De enige persoon in het boek die mij boeide waas een bijpersonage. Hildy's broertje, Gabe. Hashtag-gabe-verdiende-beter.


 

3 views0 comments
bottom of page