top of page

Review: Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

Updated: Dec 22, 2020

While Hattori Mariko is on her way to marry her betrothed, her convoy gets attacked and she barely escapes. Now she's alone in the forest with no idea where home is. Mariko takes it upon herself to infiltrate her attacker's camp and take them down from the inside.


Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ (3,5)


The only power any man has over you is the power you give him.

It actually took me a while to get into the story. It took me about 100 pages. But after that I started to read faster and longer. The story grabbed me and I wanted to know how it ended. The characters all made mistakes. Mistakes that they would later regret. Marino wasn't perfect either and I really like that.

The world building was non-existing. She only described certain buildings (this is very vague, but I'm trying to avoid spoilers here). It didn't really bother me a lot, but it was something that was missing. The story also took place in I city I would've loved to know more about. How does it look?

Be as swift as the wind. As silent as the forest. As fierce as the fire. As unshakable as the mountain. And you can do anything...

The second-to-last chapter was mindblowing. That's all I have to say about it. The ending was confusing though. It took me a while to understand the meaning of that chapter.

I enjoyed the story, but had some little issues with it. At first, it was difficult to get used to the Chinese (?) words that were used in the book. Because I had to go back-and-forth between my current page and the Glossary. But I quickly I got used to it and I started to really love it!

 

0 views0 comments
bottom of page