top of page

ARC Review: Happily Ever Afters by Elise Bryant

Updated: Jul 15, 2021

Thank you Netgalley, HarperCollins Children's Books and in particular the author, Elise Bryant for providing me with an eARC in exchange for my honest review!

Tessa Johnson couldn't be happier when she's accepted into a prestigious creative writing program. However, when she goes to her first class, she has no inspiration. It's gone.

Her best friend Caroline comes up with a romance inspired list that will get Tessa a happily ever after. But as Tessa checks off the items one by one, she slowly loses sight of who she is...


Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ (4,5)


I can't even respond to a routine compliment without spiraling into a panic.

When I started reading this book, I realized something: this is the closest representation I've ever gotten. Tessa is biracial, loves writing, but is secretive about it, social interactions can be draining to her... It was so beautiful to see and I began in this book with a warm feeling!


This book is filled with romance tropes I secretly kinda love. It also deals with peer pressure and trying to fit in at a new school.

Sam was just too sweet. This donut baking boy DESERVE ALL THE LOVE! Another character that stole my heart was Lenore. I could clearly picture her in my head and I would love to read more about her. Maybe a Lenore or Sam standalone??? *grins*

This book also touches on microaggressions, which was very well written. It's a subtle form of racism that some people may not notice, but definitely happens.


I felt less scared knowing I was going to a new place, that I would be starting over at Chrysalis, where people wouldn't know the difference and notice or, even worse, comment.

The quote above made me chuckle. This summer I chopped of a big chunk of hair. The reason why I did it during the summer holiday was because for the exact reason as Tessa's.


Tessa's brother is disabled and I can't review the book on the disability rep.


Our golden brown skin doesn't match Mom's fair tone or Dad's deep brown, but we're the same.

Now on to the critique.

I thought it was weird that the main character went after a guy who was taken. Even if they were on and off again, they were definitely on in the book and that's just weird.

It was definitely not a ship I could root for.


'Happily Ever Afters' comes out on January 5th 2021!


TW: Anxiety

17 views0 comments
bottom of page