top of page

Review: I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver

Updated: Dec 22, 2020

When Ben De Backer comes out to their parents as nonbinary, they're thrown out of their house and forced to move in with their estranged older sister, Hannah, and her husband, Thomas, whom Ben has never even met. Struggling with an anxiety disorder compounded by their parents' rejection, they come out only to Hannah, Thomas, and their therapist and try to keep a low profile in a new school.


But Ben's attempts to survive the last half of senior year unnoticed are thwarted when Nathan Allan, a funny and charismatic student, decides to take Ben under his wing. As Ben and Nathan's friendship grows, their feelings for each other begin to change, and what started as a disastrous turn of events looks like it might just be a chance to start a happier new life.


Before I start, I want to boost the following reviews: Anniek's review Tyler J. Gray's review


“Bodies are f***ing weird, especially when it feels like you don't belong in your own.”

Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ (5) This is one of those books that everyone should've read at least once in their life. It's important to keep reading books about people like yourself, but also about people that aren't like you. I feel like 'I Wish You All the Best' really captures the struggles of being closeted and coming out. Never being sure if people will still like you after you've come out. But it's also about the family you choose. Not connect by blood, but by heart Reading this book made me feel like I was there with them. It felt so real.


“Don’t ignore the problems,” he says. “Learn from them. But also, don’t knock what you get right. Every success deserves a celebration.”

This book made me feel all sorts of things. The idea that people are still getting kicked out of their house for being themselves, is sickening. Even recently, I came across an Instagram post of a Dutch boy who was kicked out of his house for being gay. We're always quick to say that the world is becoming more accepting, but it really isn't yet. Diversify your reading list and do research. And if you have questions... Google is your friend.

“Labels can help people find common ground, can help them connect, with themselves and other people.”

I do wish that I'd read this book back in 2017. When I heard the term non binary for the first time. I didn't understand it then. After watching video's by an old friend, who is non binary, I started to understand. I'm glad this book is out there. Please read it. Share it. Recommend it. You are loved. CW: Misgendering, Anxiety, depression, panic attacks, queerphobia


12 views0 comments
bottom of page