top of page

Review: Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds

Updated: Dec 22, 2020

Will is on his way. On his way to take revenge on his brother's killer. Because that's rule number three. When he is standing in the elevator with a gun in his waistband, the elevator stops on the sixth floor. Someone who he didn't expect to see enters...


Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ (5)


I felt like crying, which felt like another person trapped behind my face.

As I close the book, I try to collect my thoughts. This is the first time I'm reading a book written in verse and it was an experience.

There were moments when I realized I was holding my breath. Eyes widening.

Every floor left me guessing what would happen next. Would someone enter?

Who would think that a book, mostly taking place in elevator would hold my attention. It made me want to keep reading. Page after page after page.


Cops flashed lights in our faces and we all turned to stone.

The ending. Oh, the ending.

It left me with questions.

Now I hope that Jason Reynolds decides to write another book in verse. He does it so well.

I own two other books by him and it makes me even more excited to read them.

If you haven't, you should totally read 'Long Way Down'! It's a quick read with a strong message.


Best to become invisible in times like these. Everybody knows that.
 


13 views0 comments
bottom of page