top of page

Review: Loveless by Alice Oseman

Georgia has never been in love, never kissed anyone, never even had a crush – but as a fanfic-obsessed romantic she’s sure she’ll find her person one day.


As she starts university with her best friends, Pip and Jason, in a whole new town far from home, Georgia’s ready to find romance, and with her outgoing roommate on her side and a place in the Shakespeare Society, her ‘teenage dream’ is in sight.


But when her romance plan wreaks havoc amongst her friends, Georgia ends up in her own comedy of errors, and she starts to question why love seems so easy for other people but not for her. With new terms thrown at her – asexual, aromantic – Georgia is more uncertain about her feelings than ever.


Is she destined to remain loveless? Or has she been looking for the wrong thing all along?


Give your friendships the magic you would give a romance. Because they're just as important. Actually, for us, they're way more important.

Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ (5)


This is the first time I've read a book with an ace character and I'm so happy I finally did! A lot of books are focused intimacy and especially romance. It was so nice to see a book that was addressing the importance of friendships. Romance isn't a necessity in life. It can be fun (for some people), but it's not all there is. I personally think Alice Oseman captured the experience of one aro-ace very well. Georgia struggles to understand why she doesn't like to kiss or have crushes and this causes some internalized aphobia.

I want to remind you that everyone has their own experience. That's why, if you are aro-ace, you might not relate to Georgia's experience and that's valid. I personally really liked the ace representation in this book. It felt so nice to read about Georgia's journey, finding out she's asexual. I can't judge the aromantic rep, but as someone who isn't aromantic, I did like it.


I don't think I need to try everything to know I don't like it.

The characters were awesome. I love how they all have their own shining personalities. Georgia seems like the glue that keeps the group together. She makes sure everyone feels included. Pip will keep you grounded. Rooney will help you meet new people and introduce you to the night life. Jason won't say no to cuddles and a Scooby-Doo marathon. Sunil is always there if you need to rant or cry to someone.

Reading about this groups makes you feel like you're part of it. Like you are an indispensable part of the friend group.

This is one of those book that's just good. I can't even write a lengthy review. Just... read it. I'm so pumped to read Oseman's other books!


The aromantic and asexual spectrums weren’t just straight lines. They were radar charts with at least a dozen different axes.
 

This was my 100th blog post!! Thank you so much to everyone who have taken the time to read my rambles. Doesn't matter if you read one or five, I appreciate it so much!

9 views0 comments
bottom of page