top of page

Review: The Charm Offensive by Alison Cochrun

Dev Deshpande believes in Fairy Tales. Which is why this is his sixth year working as a producer on the show Ever After. A television show for singles who want to find their Prince Charming. This year's Prince Charming, tech wunderkind Charles Winshaw, doesn't want to find love. He wants to save his reputation. But that doesn't make Dev less determined to find Charlie his true love. But the more Dev tries to get him to bond with the contestants, the more they both realize that Charlie might be falling for someone else...


Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ (5)


I thoroughly enjoyed this book! One reason being because I love reading about people in media/film. Alison Cochrun chose a show that many people are familiar with and asked the question: 'What do you think would happen behind the scenes?' And to be honest, I wouldn't be surprised if she wasn't far off. I think that some of the things that happened in the book (I'm not talking about the romance) could actually happen backstage. Such as pushing contestants to take on a "villain" role to create more "interesting" television.

I also felt like I could relate to the characters sometimes, which was nice!


“I don't love you despite those things. I love you because of those things.”

The romance was so well done in my opinion. I felt like it progressed very naturally, especially considering that Charlie was not out when the book started. The romance was just very cute and sad and it might or might not have made me teary eyed on MULTIPLE occasions.

Also, I totally expected some people to end up together, which did not happen in the end. But that's okay, because I also loved their friendships!


“You're deserving of a relationship in whatever form you want it.”

I cannot really comment on the mental health rep in the story, because I don't have those specifc mental health disorders. But from an outside perspective, it seemed like Cochrun did a great job writing about them. I liked to read about a character who has OCD, because it hasn't appeared in the books I have read. And it was beautiful to see how Dev immediately wanted to help Charlie if he was struggling. It made Charlie feel heard and it's so easy for a person to ask the other 'how can I help?'

I also loved the overall diversity in the book: people of color and people from different parts of the LGBTQ+ community (Ace rep, yay!!)!


“When it gets like this, how can I help?"

I highly recommend this book if you are into romance books!

Be aware of triggers, as some parts of the book might be tough for people to read who struggle with panic attacks, anxiety, OCD or depression.


P.s. I really hope to read a book about Daphne one day!

 

bottom of page