top of page

Review: Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken

Updated: Dec 22, 2020

Warning! This review contains spoilers for Passenger since this is the sequel.


Etta and Nicholas are back in the last installment of the Passenger Duology.

After losing the astrolabe and the love of her life, Etta wakes up in an unfamiliar time. She now has to find her way back to Nicholas and keep the astrolabe out of the hands of Cyrus Ironwood.

In another time, Nicholas and Sophia are also trying to find the astrolabe and protect the world from being changed into something unrecognisable.


"I've always wanted to rescue a damsel in distress, and you've given me twice the fun on that front."

Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ (4)


Finally I have read the sequel to Passenger! I read Passenger back in the summer of 2017. Because of my massive TBR pile, I didn't start reading it until summer 2019.

I wasn't sure if I should reread Passenger before I started reading Wayfarer, but I ended up not rereading it. That just takes quite some time and I have more books to read.

Surprisingly I remembered what happened pretty quickly. That means that Passenger really stuck with me.

Wayfarer was a very good conclusion to an amazing duology, but I did enjoy Passenger more. Passenger really was an amazing book. Nonetheless was Wayfarer great!


"Can always count on her to douse the light of hope."

Who doesn't love Nicholas Carter's mannerism? I sure do. I love how speaks so formal (most of the time) and I can really imagine a real voice when I read about him speaking. I hope that the duology will be picked up for a movie. I'm sure that Hollywood can make a real blockbuster out of this duology!

It felt like Etta became more independent in this book. That's probably because she didn't have Nicholas to help her. I really liked to see that development.

The characters that were introduced in Wayfarer were all very interesting in their own way.

There is one character that I find hilarious. Every time he speaks, I either facepalm or laugh. That character also went through some character development throughout this book which I really enjoyed.

The unpredictable Sophia was also back in this book. I've always liked her character. Not that I necessarily like her as a person (later on in this book, I like her more), but Alexandra Bracken has created her so well. You can see how Sophia has a survivors instinct. That's why she seems so hard on the outside.

I don't think I will every fully understand Rose, Etta's mother. Again, Bracken has created a very interesting character. So mysterious. You never know if Rose is trustworthy. She always seems to have a double agenda.


"A girl can dream."

Most books end in a huge battle. After the battle, there is an epilogue that closes the story.

In this case, it didn't end in a battle. After the end battle, there were three chapters and an epilogue.

I really liked that it slowed down in pace for the last chapters. That gave this book an opportunity to give each important character a satisfying ending.

It was bittersweet and even though I wanted to finish the book, I was sad when I did.

I really want a spin-off with Sophia and a certain character (not inserting ther person's name, because of spoilers). I feel like their is much more to tell there.


"Good God, shriek again a little louder this time, will you?"
 

8 views0 comments
bottom of page