top of page

Review: Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

Updated: Dec 22, 2020

Warning! This review contains spoilers for Carry On since this is the sequel.

After the events of Carry On, Simon won't get of the couch. Baz and Penelope seem to be unable to reach him.

Meanwhile, Agatha is still in the United States, living a "Normal" life.

Following her example, Penelope, Simon and Baz travel to America for the most adventurous road trip of their lives.


I'd tie our hearts together, chamber by chamber.

Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ (4,5)


Even though I finished Carry On in 2017, reading this book gave me a feeling of nostalgia.

It took a while for the book to show who the antagonist was. Wayward Son is more focused on character development and interaction. The first quarter of the book was mostly the SnowBaz relationship and Simon having to deal being powerless.

He went from being a rather unusual Chosen One, to a "Normal".

To me this book felt like a good friend you haven't seen in a while and just bumped into. I also think that this book is more of a filler to prepare for a more action packed sequel: Any Way the Wind Blows (coming soon).

At the end of the book, we were shocked by a cliffhanger.

I NEED MORE!


Welp. I screwed that up.

There were two characters that stood out for me in this book: Penelope was one of them.

The dialog of Penelope and the other character was so much fun. This book had such such natural humor. It didn't feel like it was put in there just to have some funny dialog.

Rainbow created her own spells system. The spells are popular phrases or pieces of songs. In this book the system gets explained further. I really like the system she created. It's original and not very complicated.


Wayward Son is a wonderful read and I recommend it if you loved Carry On! However, I do prefer Carry On over this one.


When someone shows you who they are, believe them.
 

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page