top of page

BLOGTOBER DAY 29

Blogtober day 29 has arrived! This will be my last day, because I don't have anything for the other days. The prompt for day 30 is favorite book of the month and for day 31 is wrap-up. I haven't finished any book this month, so I can't do those. I'm currently reading Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken and really enjoying it! Do you want to read the blogposts of the hosts? Anniek is called anniekslibrary and Hâf is called librarylooter! #blogtober

DAY 29 - HALLOWEEN PLANS

For those who don't know: I live in the Netherlands and here, we do not really celebrate Halloween. It is becoming a slightly bigger thing these past years, so some people do go to Halloween parties.

Sadly, we don't go trick-or-treating here.

Someday I wanna go to the United States during the holidays. Dressing up and trick-or-treating during Halloween, experiencing Thanksgiving and celebrating Christmas.

But I don't think that I'll be able to visit the US any time soon.

The closest thing we have to Halloween is Sint Maarten (St. Martin's Day).

Sint Maarten is a feast day on november 11th. On that day the kids here go door-to-door to sing songs and receive candy or fruits.

The kids carry a lantern (example in the picture below) and a bag to collect the food.

We don't dress up for Sint Maarten, but we do dress up during Dutch Carnaval.

I love to see pictures and vlogs from Halloween. There are people who make their own costumes and that is amazing! I really admire people who make their costumes from scratch, just like cosplayers.

I hope everyone who celebrated, had a great Halloween!

I'm over here playing the song This is Halloween from The Nightmare Before Christmas.


Q: Do you celebrate Halloween or have you ever celebrated Halloween?

 
2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page