top of page

Mid-Year Book Check-In Tag 2021

It's that time of year again! This tag was previously called "Mid-year Book Freakout Tag", but many people have spoken up about the title being ableist. So, Anniek (they/them) from Anniekslibrary decided to create a new title!

I will also change the title in previous posts.

The Mid-year book Check-In is an annual book tag on my blog! It's my favorite way to reflect on the first half of my book year and look forward to what's to come!

You can read last year's post here.


1. Best book you've read so far in 2021.


The best book so far is Cheer Up: Love and Pompoms by Crystal Frasier and Val Wise! I recently finished this comic book and I loved it! You can read my review here.



2. Best sequel you've read so far in 2021.


Definitely Fence volume 2 by C.S. Pacat and Johanna The Mad. That comic book series stole my heart last year and volume 2 didn't change that!

Because comic books are quite expensive, I don't buy them very often. Hopefully I will get to read volume 3 this year or some time next year.



3. New release you haven't read yet, but want to.


Introductions for dancing by Nicola Yoon! I've heard nothing but good things about it. Hopefully I get to read the book as soon as I have a copy.



4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.


My most anticipated release is Here's To Us by Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera. It's a sequel to What If It's Us, which came out on October 9th 2018. I haven't read the first one yet, but I'm still excited about it's sequel. It seems like such a good book!


Here's To Us will be released on December 28th 2021!



5. Biggest disappointment.


So far I haven't really read any books that I hated. Main reason: I haven't finished a lot of books. But the books that I did finish were very good!


6. Biggest surprise.


Take a Hint, Dani Brown by Talia Hibbert has been a surprise for me! I never read adult fiction, so I was a bit hesitant if I was gonna like it. But I really like it so far! It's taking me a long time to finish (nearly a year), however that's not because I don't like it. It's because I've been way too busy this year!



7. Favorite new author. (Debut or new to you)


Talia Hibbert is my new favorite author! She's so funny and I love their writing style!

Even though I usually don't read adult novels, I do want to read her other books in the Brown sisters trilogy.


8. Newest fictional crush.


My newest fictional crush is Zafir Ansari from Take a Hint, Dani Brown. Zaf is very charming and I love together with Dani!


9. Newest favorite character.


I actually have two new favorite characters: Annie and BeeBee from Cheer Up: Love and Pompoms! Annie is badass and seems like the protective kinda friend. BeeBee seems like she is caring and a good listener.


10. Book that made you cry.


So far, I think a book hasn't made me cry yet (in 2021).


But I'm sure some book will get me weeping in the second half of the year!


11. Book that made you happy.


What's Up, Beanie? made me happy! I love love comic collections. They are short, sweet, relatable and you can always pick it back up later to only read your favorite parts.



12. Most beautiful book you've bought so far this year (or received).


One of the books that I received as a birthday gift is a Dutch book called 'Bijna Echt' (translation: Almost Real) by Lisa van Campenhout. I loved the color combination on the cover! It looks so good on my bookshelf!





13. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?


- Sea of Kings by Melissa Hope

- [Dutch] Waarom je niet zomaar moet stemmen waar je ouders op stemmen by Titia Hoogendoorn and Nienke Schuitemaker

- Take a Hint, Dani Brown by Talia Hibbert

- Heartstopper volume 3 by Alice Oseman

- [Dutch] De Zwendelprins by Rima Orie


14. Favorite Book Community Member.


Personally, this question is always hard. I don't have one favorite book community member. I made a lot of friends during my (almost) four years on bookstagram, so I would name them all!



Did we share some of the same answers? Let me know on my Instagram!


I think that I will do this tag again at the end of the year. Looking at an entire year of books and maybe things have changed by then!


Until next time!


 

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page