top of page

Mid-year Book Check-In Tag 2019

Updated: Jul 5, 2021

The Mid-year Book Check-In Tag has been a popular tag lately, so I thought: why not do the tag myself.

This tag is created by Ely (link to YT video) and Chami (link to YT channel)

Update [July 5th 2021]: This tag was previously called "Mid-year Book Freakout Tag", but many people have spoken up about the title being ableist. So, Anniek (they/them) from Anniekslibrary decided to create a new title!


1. Best book you've read so far in 2019.

Definitely Dear Martin by Nic Stone! It was such a heartbreaking story and I still think about it. It is a must read if you loved The Hate U Give. And if you haven't read either one of them, I recommend you read both!


2. Best sequel you've read so far in 2019.

The best sequel I've read in 2019 must be The Potion Diaries: Royal Tour. That book caught my attention throughout the whole story and the ending made me want to read the third installment right after!


3. New release you haven't read yet, but want to.

On the Come Up by Angie Thomas! I own a signed copy of it, but I have yet to read it! The Hate U Give was my favorite book of 2018 (and overall my favorite) and I'm so excited to read this one. But there are books that I've had for so long and still have to read! Soooo... I'm sorry Angie.


4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

This one is easy! I think that everyone knows my answer.

My most anticipated release is Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell!

It's a sequel to Carry On and that book is just a perfect piece of art. If you haven't read Carry On yet, you can still read it, before Wayward Son hits shelves.

Wayward Son will be released on september 24th 2019!


5. Biggest disappointment.

I'm in doubt between Piper Perish by Kayla Cagan and 36 questions that changed my mind about you. They were both bad in their own way.


6. Biggest surprise.

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief had been recommended to me quite a lot! But I actually didn't think I would love it as much as I did!


7. Favorite new author. (Debut or new to you)

Nic Stone's debut novel Dear Martin came out in 2017, but I read it this year. So she is new for me and that's why I she is my favorite new author.


8. Newest fictional crush.

My newest fictional crush is Adam Kent from Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi! He is just so sweet and had to endure so much! I hope that Tahereh treats him well in the other books I still have to read! I have only read Shatter Me (#1) and Destroy Me (#1.5) in the series.


9. Newest favorite character.

My newest favorite character is Kenji Kishimoto from Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi! He's such a funny character and I think that I will love him even more as I continue with the series.

10. Book that made you cry.

So far, I think a book hasn't made me cry yet (in 2019). I can't remember if Dear Martin made me cry, though...

But 2019 isn't over yet!


11. Book that made you happy.

Heartstopper by Alice Oseman, because it's just such a good graphic novel. The parts were Nick and Charlie had so much fun with each other made me very happy!


12. Most beautiful book you've bought so far this year (or received).

I love my copy of Dear Evan Hansen! It looks so pretty with a shiny cover and orange painted edges!


13. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

There are a bunch of books that I wanted to read last year, but ended up not reading. So this year I NEED to read Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh and Cress by Marissa Meyer!


14. Favorite Book Community Member.

This question is too difficult! I love so many members of the community! I have met a bunch of my friends through the love of books!

For this question, I think I'm gonna choose my favorite Booktuber!

But that's also difficult, because I don't have just one favorite. I love so many!

One of which is Zoë Herdt from readbyzoe! She's so funny and I really enjoy her read-a-thons!


So, this was the mid-year book check-in tag! Did we share some of the same answers? Let me know on my Instagram!

I think that I will do this tag again at the end of the year. Looking at an entire year of books and maybe things have changed by then!


Until next time!

 

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page