top of page

My favorite podcasts of 2020!

Updated: Dec 22, 2020

Hello there! Hope you are all doing well!

For those of you who don't know what a podcast is; a podcast is an audio series where the host talks about anything. There are podcast series about any subject (also about books. yay).

I love podcasts! There are so many good once and I discover more every time.

In this blog post I'm sharing my favorite podcasts that I started listening to this year and loved. I'm also sharing your favorite podcasts and I have some honorable mentions that didn't make the favorites list!

I will link the podcasts, but there are more places where you can listen to these podcasts, like Spotify!



Showmance - hosted by Jenna Ushkowitz and Kevin McHale

Former Glee stars Jenna and Kevin are here to spill all the Glee tea! They tell about their experience working on the show and even invite cast- and crew mates to join them.


I watched the entire Glee show, but I'm not a Gleek (definition: name of the Glee fandom. The name is a portmanteau for Glee and geek). Even though I wasn't a huge Glee fan, I was excited when I found out about their podcast. I'm very interested in what goes on behind the scenes of tv- or movie sets, so listening to this podcast has been a joy!


Listen here to Showmance!


The Community Library - Hosted by Angourie Rice

The Community Library is a book club and discussion space, hosted by feminist and professional book lover Angourie Rice. This month the book club pick is Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao, which she discussed today. Their next book club pick will be announced on the podcast's Instagram in the coming days.


This podcast definitely is my favorite podcast EVER! She is very good at analyzing the books she reads (which is a skill I'm jealous of) and beside that, she is also funny!

Recently she started a series on her podcast where she discusses fairy tales!

ME=HAPPY!

The episodes that are up are from Snow White, Cinderella and The Little Mermaid (featuring Kali and FINtastic puns) and The Snow Queen (featuring Kalliope). What I love about this series is that Angourie doesn't just discuss the Disney classic, but also other versions of the fairy tales! It's so interesting to hear about the differences between the versions of one fairy tale. Just like in the other episodes, Angourie analyzes the entire story and sometimes I didn't even realize the hidden messages and meanings within these classics!

The wrap-up episode of this fairy tale series was published today, together with the review of the book club pick.

The Community Library is highly recommended to fellow book lovers!


Listen here to The Community Library!

This picture is property of Angourie Rice.

Buddy Read Podcast - hosted by Nia and Kim

Nia and Kim are roommates and best friends! In their podcast they give you "the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly on their latest audiobook reads, and host fun interviews with fellow book podcasters & bookstagrammers!"


This is another bookish podcast I've been loving! You can totally notice their friendship during the episodes. The podcast currently has six episodes up (excluding the intro) and my favorite episode so far has been their discussion of Dear Martin.

Everyone should check out the Buddy Read Podcast!


Listen here to Buddy Read Podcast!


The Sartorial Geek - Hosted by Jordan and Elizabeth

The Sartorial Geek is a podcast for the geek in all of us. We focus on pop culture, girl power, and cool stories told by cool people. Brought to you by the team at Jordandené.


I think that this is the first podcast that I ever listened to. The Sartorial Geek is every Geek's must-listen podcast!

In some episodes they even invite well-known people like Sam Maggs and V.E. Schwab. They also have a regular mini episode. It's an episode from around four to ten minutes where they give styling, quarantine or convention tips.

Jordan is also the founder of our favorite geeky clothing store Jordandené!


Listen here to The Sartorial Geek Podcast!


Duolingo Spanish/Duolingo French

In these podcast episodes the host tells real-time stories in Spanish/French with English narration.

I'm currently learning Spanish and this podcast has been very helpful! In high school I took French classes four years and to keep up my knowledge, I decided to start listening to these podcast episodes.

So if you want to practice your Spanish, French or English (for spanish speakers), I highly recommend this podcast. There aren't any Duolingo podcasts in other languages yet, but maybe there will in the future!


Listen here to Duolingo Spanish - hosted by Martina Castro!

Listen here to Duolingo French - hosted by Ngofeen Mputubwele



Bookstagram picks!


A while back I asked my followers on Bookstagram to recommend me some podcasts. Thank you for sending in your recommendations! I haven't had the time to check them all out, but I will get to them soon. I will only write a review for the podcasts that I have (partly) listened to.


The Movie Podcast - hosted by Daniel, Shahbaz and Anthony

(Recommended by @ruisreading)

The Movie Podcast is a film news and entertainment podcast that covers the week’s biggest film stories, reviews of the latest movies and a unique topic of the show. You can catch Daniel, Shahbaz, and Anthony in a new episode every Monday!


This is probably my favorite movie podcast yet! I could just watch this podcast in one sitting, which doesn't happen often. An episode is usually around an hour-and-a-half long, which can be quite a long time. But when the episode is about something you like, the time goes by fast!

I haven't listened to a lot of the episodes, but I really like the once I did listen to.


Listen here to The Movie Podcast!


The Two Princes - starring Noah Galvin an Ari'el Stachel

(Recommended by @florandherbooks)

The Two Princes is podcast/audiobook that tells the story about two princes who go on an adventure to save their realm!


It's such a cute story! I'm almost done with episode two and I've been really enjoying it.

The narration is great and I've caught myself laughing out loud at some scenes.

It's easy to follow, which I like because I usually listen to podcast when I'm doing something (like paint, write or clean my room).

Season one of the podcast has seven episodes, just like the second season. I'm not sure if there will be a season three, but I definitely hope so!


Listen here to The Two Princes!


Let's Talk About Myths Baby! - hosted by Liv Albert

(Recommended by @the_community_library)

The most entertaining and enraging stories from mythology told casually, contemporarily, and (let's be honest) sarcastically. Greek and Roman gods did some pretty weird (and awful) things. This isn't your average storytelling podcast: Liv focuses on Greek and Roman mythology's (mis)treatment of women, the insane things the gods did, and the all around incredible minds of the ancient world. I mean, how did they come up with this stuff? Gods, goddesses, heroes, monsters, and everything in between.


This feminist podcast has quickly become one of my favorite podcasts!

Liv tells the stories in such a funny way. I cracked up laughing many times and I have only listened to approximately 10 episodes! She also looks at the myths through a feminist lens, because women weren't really treated well in these mythological stories.

If you love Greek mythology or want to learn about it, this is the podcast for you!


Listen here to Let's Talk About Myths Baby!

This picture is property of Liv Albert.

The Magnus Archives - hosted by Jonathan Sims

(Recommended by @djenne.g)

A weekly horror fiction podcast examining what lurks in the archives of the Magnus Institute, an organisation dedicated to researching the esoteric and the weird. Join Jonathan Sims as he explores the archive, but be be warned, as he looks into its depths something starts to look back…


Horror is not my choice of genre, but I am curious about how these stories are being told.

I decided to listen partly to a random story to get a feeling of how the stories are being told. The episode I listened to was MAG 172 - Strung Out.

It's already starts of with music that makes me wonder if this is a good idea, haha.

The narration really adds to the spooky vibe.

This podcast is perfect for fans of the horror genre!


Listen here to The Magnus Archives!


To Be Continued with Cristela Alonzo

(Recommeded by @nataliereadstoomuch)

Cristela Alonzo is a comedian who is known for projects like her stand-up special or her voice appearance in Cars 3. To Be Continued is a podcast that mixes sketch, social commentary and whatever comes to Alonzo's mind.


Listen here to To Be Contiued with Cristela Alonzo!


The Just Interesting Podcast - hosted by Martin, Robin and Alex

(Recommended by @themugglebornreader)

On The Just Interesting Podcasts the hosts tell you little-known facts and news stories that are -you've guessed it- just interesting!


Listen here to The Just Interesting Podcast!


Honorable Mentions

These are the podcasts that I have listened (or am listening) to and loved, but didn't make the favorites list!


I Weigh - hosted by Jameela Jamil

On I Weigh, Jameela Jamil challenges society’s definition of worth through weight by asking different thought-leaders, performers, activists, influencers, and friends about how they are working through their past shames to find where their value truly lies. With hilarious and vulnerable conversations, I Weigh will amplify and empower diverse voices in an accessible way to celebrate progress, not perfection.


I put this in my honorable mentions, because I haven't listened to a lot of their episodes yet to really give an opinion. So far I like the episodes I have listened to!

I have listened to the episode with Beanie Feldstein and Billy Porter in it's entirety. Both episodes were interesting and easy to listen to.

The duration of an episode is pretty long though. Usually around one hour. With some episodes I notice that I'm not interested enough to listen the sixty minutes in one sitting. That's why I haven't finished some episodes yet.

I'm planning on getting through most of the episodes and I am excited to do so!


Listen here to I Weigh!

Jameela Jamil, an Indian-American woman with black wavy hair, looks into the camera with squinting eyes while biting on a measuring tape.
This picture is property of Jameela Jamil.

Carpool Critics - hosted by Linus Media Group

New movies, old movies- sometimes no movies at all! Hop in the passenger seat as three nerds have a SPOILER-FILLED, not-so-serious chat about the movies you love.


Like with I Weigh, I haven't been able to listen to a lot of the Carpool Critics podcast episodes. So far I only listened to one and it was one that I really liked.

With discussion podcasts like this one, I've noticed that I don't listen to all of the episodes. Even though I like to hear their thoughts, I'm not interested in listening to the episode about the movies that don't spark my interest.

Maybe I'll decide to occasionally listen to an episode about movies that I haven't seen yet, to find out whether it's a movie for me, but I don't know yet.

Episodes of Carpool Critics range from fifty minutes to seventy minutes.


Listen here to Carpool Critics!


Tante Jos (Dutch) - hosted by Mijke van Wijk

Jos Gemmeke zat in de illegale pers, was koerierster en werd in Engeland opgeleid tot geheim agent. Jos was de oudtante van Mijke van Wijk en zij groeide op met verhalen over de verzetsheldin Jos. Kort voor haar dood ontmoeten zij elkaar. Mijke wil alles weten over haar oorlogsverleden, over haar dropping in maart 1945 en de geheime opdracht die zij kreeg van de Engelsen. Maar het geheugen van Jos laat haar behoorlijk in de steek. Na de dood van Jos gaat Mijke op zoek naar de dossiers en rapporten die de Britten over haar hebben bijgehouden. En wat blijkt: een aantal verhalen dat tante Jos altijd vertelde, ligt toch wat anders… Tante Jos is een verhaal in vijf afleveringen.


Dit is mijn favoriete Nederlandstalige podcast. De verhalen die Mijke vertelde en de dingen die ze te weten kwamen waren erg interessant. Vooral omdat Mijke familie is van mevrouw van Gemmeke. Ik ging heel snel door deze podcast heen, omdat ik zo benieuwd was hoe het af liep. Helaas was de podcast maar vijf afleveringen lang (van rond de 30 minuten).

Zeker het luisteren waard!


Luister hier naar Tante Jos!


De Brand in het Landhuis (Dutch) - hosted by Simon Heijmans

Op 7 december 2003 komt grootgrondbezitter Ewald Marggraff bij een brand in zijn landhuis in Vught om het leven. De excentrieke Brabander bezat zo'n 700 hectare land, een kunstcollectie van ruim 500 schilderijen en een vermogen van 160 miljoen in verschillende belastingparadijzen.

Na zijn dood is er geen spoor meer te vinden van de schilderijen of het geld.

Waar is zijn geld gebleven? Wat is er gebeurd met zijn schilderijencollectie? En waarom is er op deze vragen nooit antwoord gekomen?

Als eind 2018, vijftien jaar na de brand, nog steeds nieuwe verhalen opduiken, besluit podcastmaker en acteur Simon Heijmans een zoektocht te ondernemen. Wat is feit en wat is fictie?


Ik luisterde naar deze podcast gelijk nadat ik klaar was met Tante Jos. Deze podcast vond ik net zo interessant. Ik vond het leuk dat je er samen met Heijmans achter kwam wat er aan de hand is. Ook bij deze podcast wilde ik verder blijven luisteren. Het is zo'n apart verhaal dat je gewoon moet weten hoe het eindigt!


Luister hier naar De Brand in het Landhuis!

 

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page