top of page

Scotland adventures!

Whenever I go on a trip, I try to find the nearest bookstore. This time I went to a bookstore in Scotland! So that meant that I would actually be able to buy books that I can fully understand. Last time I went to France and I bought two translated books.

I took French in highschool, so I do know a little bit of French. I'm hoping that reading those two books will refresh my knowledge. Curious which books I bought in France? Go check out that blog post!


The first bookstore I went to was in Edinburgh. I went to Waterstones, which was awesome. I really love Waterstones and I always need to go in whenever I see one. I have been to three Waterstones so far: in Amsterdam, London Piccadilly Circus and Edinburgh. All three stores were really cosy and I feel like they all give off the same energy.

At Waterstones I bought The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo, because I hadn't been able to get a copy. Also, shoutout to the cashier who tried to have a conversation with me about the book, because they saw the book was blurbed by Angie Thomas. Sorry to them for being so awkward. When they said to stop by again to tell them whether or not I enjoyed the book, I said 'sure', even though I knew that it was the only time I was gonna visit that Waterstones. I was just too nervous to tell them for some reason.

... anywaaaays!


When I visited Edinburgh, I also stopped by Greyfriars Art Shop (near the statue of the dog, Greyfriars Bobby) to look for some art supplies! It was a pretty small shop, which made it even more fun. The interior really fit the vibe (I'm all about the vibes as you can probably tell).

We arrived there pretty late, so I had 10 minutes to browse. That's not long for someone as indecisive as me.


The last "bookstore" I went to was in Glasgow. I think it was more of a discount store than a bookstore though. It was really exciting, because there were quite a lot of books I was interested in and most of them were on sale! Unfortunately due to lack of space in my suitcase, I could only buy two books. One of the books I got was Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry by Joya Goffney, which I got for £2,50. Then I also got The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett for £5. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo was also available, but I had to stop myself before I could buy any more books.


So, to summarize, I ended buying three books, three paint brushes and a sketchbook with the name of the shop on it. (And I also bought a Thistle flavored tea, which is a plant that's the symbol of Scotland.) Scotland is a beautiful country and I can't wait to back and explore other cities! Q: Which book are you most excited for me to read? Let me know on my Instagram!


 

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page