top of page

Visiting as many French bookstores as possible!

Summer vacation is over (cue the crying noises), but we still have the memories!

In today's blog post, I am looking back at my visit in France and all the bookish things I have done.

France may sound familiar out of my mouth. Which is true. Last year I went to France and visited a little free library!

So, let's start with our first stop!


Hypermarket

During my stay in France, I went to a hypermarket (also called a big-box store). For those of you who have no idea what a hypermarket is: it is a big store that is basically a mixture between a supermarket and a department store. So you can already imagine how big the store is! Last year was the first time I walked into a hypermarket and it was an experience! I have only been to a department store that was as big as the hypermarket and of course Ikea (but Ikea is way bigger).

The hypermarket I went to also had books! So of course we all know what I did!

I browsed the bookshelves to find a French translation of a book I already own in English/Dutch. Unfortunately without success. But I would keep going!




Fnac

My search for the right book brought me to the Fnac, which is a French department store. I went straight to the book section and started my search for the YA section. That turned out to be a challenge on it's own! It was so incredibly hard to find the YA section, but after I walked around, I finally found it near the customer service desk.

I was looking for a pocketsize version of Cinder, because I knew they sold that at Fnac for not a lot of money. But sadly I couldn't find it there.

I did ask an employee, but they didn't have Cinder at that Fnac. However, I found out that they also stored some books behind the other books on the bookshelves. So after picking up some books so be able to see behind it, I found the French translation of Simon vs the Homosapiens Agenda!

So I did walk out of the store with a new book after all!





Decitre

When I went to Lyon, I came across the Decitre. This is a bookstore that also sells office supplies and other stuff. In the case of the store I went to, the bookstore and the store where they mostly sold office supplies were to separate stores next to each other.

Finding the YA section was quite easy, but that is not really surprising considering that the store was small. I scanned through the books, hoping to find another book to take home with me.

That's when I saw it.

The pocket edition of Cinder.

It was a little damaged, but not enough for me to leave it there. After visiting Decitre, I didn't visit another bookstore.


[Blog post continues below the picture.]

That was the last stop, which brings us to the end of my second bookish journey in France! Do you own any books in a foreign lanuage? Let me know in my recent Instagram post!


 

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page