top of page

Show talk: Dash & Lily S1

Dash & Lily's Book of Dares was a delightful read! It was so cute and had it's funny elements. A perfect Christmas read!

Even though I loved the books (and liked the sequel), I didn't realize that we were going to get new Dash & Lily (and Boomer) content! How did no one tell me this?!

Last month I saw the trailer for the Netflix show Dash & Lily, but... I thought it was a movie... So when I went on Netflix on it's release date (november 10th) I was surprised to see the words: ' watch Dash & Lily season 1 now'. So, I think I have to tell all my friends and my sister that I'm making them watch a show and not a movie.

Anyway, whenever I watch a book-to-movie or book-to-show adaptation, I want to analyse it on accuracy and the overall quality of the movie/show. I have to be honest that I don't remember a lot about the book, since I read it back in 2017.

I do remember some of the major things that happened in the book, so I think I'm ready to watch season 1!

Will you join me?


Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ (4)


Okay, I've learned that I'm a sucker for cheesy Christmas romance.

Dash & Lily season 1 was so cute! It has the Christmas vibe and stays true to a lot of things that are happening in the book. There were little things that were missing from the show, but it really didn't bother me.

I watched it in a few hours while making homework and now I'm in a Christmas mood! Every episode is around the 25 minutes, which I find a good length. If the episodes were around the 40 minutes, it would've become boring so quickly.


Now let's talk about Boomer. If you have been following me on bookstagram for a while, you might know that Boomer was the highlight of the book (this has been a Boomer fanpage since 2017). He was funny and kind and for the longest time he was my number one favorite character.

Therefore I was worried that he wouldn't be as fun as he was in the books.

No need to worry. Dante Brown did an amazing job. He is exactly how I wanted Boomer to be. Just naturally funny!

Boomer smiles at Lily. His teeth are showing. He's wearing a white shirt with the drawing of a yellow bird. Over his shirt he wears a yellow jacket. You see Lily's back. She is wearing a coat and a colorful cap.

Now on to the technical side of the series. I've noticed that a lot of scenes were handheld filmed. You can see that from the somewhat "shaky" footage. This is probably because Dash and Lily are constantly moving. They go from place to place to complete these dares. So choosing to film handheld is a logical decision.

I've seen movies where handheld filming is just not it. Where the shaky footage is just annoying to look at. Through my years as a filmmaker I've also noticed that having footage that is somewhat shaky at times, can also be very nice to look at.

I also loved the editing. The way they switched between POVs wasn't messy. I was never confused about who we were following. I also loved that they changed the title card depending on who we are following in that episode.

One of my best friends, who is also a filmmaker, said the same thing. She really loved how everything was edited.


Personally, I wasn't a fan of the movie Naomi & Ely's No Kiss List, which was also based on a book by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. But maybe I liked this one better, because the authors were more involved (as executive producers).


To conclude my ramble: I recommend Dash & Lily and am looking forward to season 2! I think that the new season will probably come out next year around the holidays.


Dash & Lily season 1 is now out on Netflix!

 

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page