top of page

Tv-show talk: Shadowhunters

Updated: Dec 22, 2020

Last week, the last episodes of the Freeform series Shadowhunters: The Mortal Instruments aired and that means that it's the end of the show.

Shadohunters is the adaptation of the bestselling book series The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. Today, I'm going to discuss this series with y'all. Did I love it or did I hate it? Let's find out!

But remember: SPOILERS AHEAD!!

Note that my thoughts are based on what I've seen in the series. I have only read one book in the Mortal Instruments series.



Last spoiler warning!


Okay, I will give you a moment to fangirl over the beauty that is Malec...


Aaaand let's continue!


Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ (3)


The acting throughout the show was okay. The very good actors actually made the other actors look pretty bad.

Harry Shum jr. (Magnus Bane), David Castro (Raphael Santiago) and Matthew Daddario (Alec Lightwood) were in my eyes the best (and my favorite) actors.


The last episode was one hour long and had little action. It was just filled with cute and emotional scènes.

The last scène with Jonathan was a little disappointing. There was no action whatsoever and it went too easy.

During the rest of the episode I expected Jonathan or Lilith to return, but nope. There was no big threat in the episode.

The Malec scène was just perfect. But wat else did we expect?

They looked so cute and happy!

Jocelyn returning for a hot second was also very weird to me. She came in like 'hey girl, you screwed up real bad, ya know' and then vanished.

That was just too random and it kinda made me laugh a little.


The show ended with Clary losing her runes and the Sight. She then lost her memories of the shadow world. It was a bit of an unsatisfying ending, but maybe I'm just used to seeing happy endings, haha. It was cute when they started all over again with Jace asking her if she could see him. That was a clever thing to do. It made it full circle again.


I discussed the series with a friend and she said that they switched a lot of plot lines. I find that very weird. Like, what was the reason behind that! I really need to know.



To conclude my discussion with one sentence: Malec saved the show for me.

If it wasn't for those two, I think I wouldn't have kept on watching for that long.

What are your thoughts on the show? Let me know on my Instagram!


Until next time!

 

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page