top of page

Mid-year Book Check-In Tag 2020

Updated: Jul 5, 2021

We're halfway through 2020 (thank goodness), which means another Mid-year Book Check-In Tag!

2020 so far has been a heck of a decade, but I still managed to read something. As I'm posting this I'm on 8 books. Because this year was also my graduation year I had set my Goodreads goal lower than last year: 20 books. I'm happy I did so, because I haven't been reading a lot lately.

Anyway, let's look at the tag

This tag is created by Ely (link to YT video) and Chami (link to YT channel). Do you want to read what I wrote when I did the tag last year? Click here!

Update [July 5th 2021]: This tag was previously called "Mid-year Book Freakout Tag", but many people have spoken up about the title being ableist. So, Anniek (they/them) from Anniekslibrary decided to create a new title!

1. Best book you've read so far in 2020.

Definitely All American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely! It was such a heartbreaking story and I still think about it. It is a must read for everyone. Go read it!!


2. Best sequel you've read so far in 2020.

The only sequel I have read in 2020 is Wayward Son, so it obviously is the best one. That doesn't mean I didn't enjoy it, because I did!

I'm planning on finishing more sequels this year, so who knows if this book will stay my favorite sequel of 2020? We can only wait and see.

3. New release you haven't read yet, but want to.

Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender! I've heard nothing but good things about it. Hopefully I get to read the book as soon as I have a copy.

To get you excited for this book, here is a review written by the wonderful Anniek (they/them) from Anniekslibrary: Anniek's review.


4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

My most anticipated release is Dear Justyce by Nic Stone. Dear Justyce is the sequel to Dear Martin.

Dear Justyce will be released on september 29th 2020!


5. Biggest disappointment.

So far I haven't really read any books that I hated. My lowest rating so far is three-and-a-half stars for the Dutch book Gids voor de Kantoorjungle.

Hopefully this'll stay my lowest rating of 2020!

6. Biggest surprise.

Long Way Down was a surprise for me, because had never read any fiction in verse! I think it really added to the story. I now own a copy of The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta, which is also written in verse. Hopefully I get to read more stuff in verse, because I really like the style!

7. Favorite new author. (Debut or new to you)

Jason Reynolds has been writing for a long time, but I just started reading his books. This year I read Long Way Down and All American Boys. Both were five-star reads for me.

He is definitely one of my favorite writers and I can't wait to read his other books!


8. Newest fictional crush.

My newest fictional crush is Nicholas Cox from Fence Volume 1 by C.S. Pacat and Johanna The Mad! I don't really know why, but I really like Nicholas. Maybe it's because he is kinda different than the other fencers. The underdog.



9. Newest favorite character.

My newest favorite character is Bobby Rodriguez from the comic series Fence. He is so kind and whenever he makes an appearance I smile like an idiot.










10. Book that made you cry.

So far, I think a book hasn't made me cry yet (in 2020).

But 2020 isn't over yet! I'm sure at least one book will make my eyes water.

11. Book that made you happy.

Fence Volume 1 by C.S. Pacat and Johanna The Mad (and once again I'm talking about Fence... I see a patern here), because it's just such a good comic. It's a slow-burn, which is terrible (in a good way), because I NEED MORE! I think I was smiling throughout the majority of the book. Most of the characters were so sweet (yes, I'm talking about you Bobby and you can really feel the tension between some of the characters.


12. Most beautiful book you've bought so far this year (or received).

One of the books that I received as a graduation gift was The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta. The edition that I got has black feathers with a gold outlining. I normally don't like gold, but on books I do like it!

I've been wanting to read this book ever since it came out, so I hope I'll get to it it soon.









13. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

Okay, for some reason I feel like this question is calling me out on my abandoned reads. I've started reading Little Women at the beginning of this year and I still haven't finished it! The reason is probably because it's my first classic and reading this English classic has been a little harder than expected.

I probably should've started reading classics in my mother-tongue before starting the English ones. But ah well, it's not like I don't understand anything, I just have to think harder when reading.

14. Favorite Book Community Member.

Just like last year, I have troubles with this question. There are so many members of the book community whom I love. To make this question a little easier, I'm changing it to: members of the book community that I found out about this year.

Angourie (she/her) The Community Library - In the podcast The Community Library, Angourie analyses books and their movie adaptations. Sometimes she also invites friends to join the discussion. You can listen to the podcast on Apple Podcasts, Spotify and Anchor!

Jesse (they/them) Bowties and Books - Jesse is very good at speaking their mind, which is something I really admire. If I want some book recommendations, I either go on bookstagram or watch their recommendations on BookTube! You can check out their BookTube channel here!

Izzie (she/her) Izzies Busy Reading - I recently found her BookTube channel and I'm happy I did! Her video's are enjoyable and I personally really like to listen to her voice, which is also important! She also has some informative videos's where she talks about her disability. You can check out her channel here!

So, this was the mid-year book check-in tag! Did we share some of the same answers? Let me know on my Instagram!

I think that I will do this tag again at the end of the year. Looking at an entire year of books and maybe things have changed by then!

Until next time!


 

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page