top of page

THE READING RUSH 2020 TBR

Updated: Dec 22, 2020

It's that time of year again... The Reading Rush! From July 20th until July 26th I will try to read as much as possible and try to complete challenges along the way.

In this post I will be sharing my Reading Rush TBR with you. Every year there is a TBR challenge that encourages you to read certain types of books. You can watch the information here.

I participated in a Reading Rush before. I think this is my third year? If you want to reread my 2019 recap of The Reading Rush, click here!


1. Read a book with a cover that matches the color of your birth stone.

The first thing I needed to do for this challenge was finding out what color my birthstone is.

This image says: "March Birthstone. Aquamarine. A symbol of honesty, loyalty, and beauty. The aquamarine is supposed to offer protection from evil and is also said to bring love and affection back into a falling relationship." The background of the image is blue, which matches the color of the birth stone.

So, the color of my birthstone is Aquamarine and I honestly really love the color! Maybe that's why blue is my favorite color. The cover that looks the most like Aquamarine is of the Dutch version of Landline by Rainbow Rowell, called Verkeerd Verbonden.


2. Read a book that starts with the word 'The'.

Because I really want to finish this eARC, I decided that my pick for this challenge will be The Year Shakespeare Ruined My Life by Dani Jansen! I'm not really flying through it, so hopefully I'll read a lot during The Reading Rush and finally finish this book.


3. Read a book that inspired a movie you've already seen.

Maybe I should use this challenge as an opportunity to finally read Paper Towns by John Green. I saw the movie years ago and really disliked it. That made me lose motivation to continue reading the book.


4. Read the first book you touch.

For this prompt I had to go to one of my bookshelf, close my eyes and touch a random book. I chose to go to the shelf that has the most unread books on them.

I pointed my finger, waved my hand and touched a book. The book that I pointed my finger at was Wild Born (Spirit Animals #1) by Brandon Mull. It's a short book (about 200 pages), so it was a great choice!


5. Read a book completely outside of your house.

For this challenge I chose another book that I'm already reading and have to finish. It's a Dutch book called Grondvuur (literal translation: ground fire) by Mirjam Gielen.

I do enjoy this book and it's not thick, but for some reason I'm not making a lot of progress in it.

As for the location: The weather predictions for next week are mostly good (except for Tuesday and Wednesday, so I will be reading in the backyard on the other days.

Hosts Ariel and Raeleen received some feedback on this prompt. You can read their statement here!


6. Read a book in a genre that you've always wanted to read more of.

A poetry collection that I'm currently reading is Somebody Give This Heart a Pen by Sophia Thakur. If I haven't finished it by the time The Reading Rush starts, I will read that one.

If I do finish that book this week, I'll continue reading Little Women by Louisa May Alcott instead. I think everyone knows that book is a classic.


7. Read a book that takes place on a different continent than where you live.

Just in case you don't know this yet, I currently live in the Netherlands, which is on the European continent.

For this book I have to options: if I finish all of the books mentioned above, I will start reading De Zwendelprins by Rima Orie. This book takes place in India, which is on the Asian continent.

If I haven't finished any/all the books mentioned above, I will use the book: The Year Shakespeare Ruined My Life for this prompt!


Hopefully I will get to finish all of the books I mentioned. But you know me, I probably won't. I'm excited to see how much I'll read next week!

Will you be participating in this year's Reading Rush? Let me know on my instagram! If you have a Reading Rush account, please let met know your username so that I can add you!


Follow The Reading Rush:


If you want to follow the hosts:

Follow Ariel (she/her):


Follow Raeleen (she/her):

 

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page