top of page

YALFEST 2019 haul

Updated: Dec 22, 2020

It's been a little over a week since I went to Yalfest NL! I didn't only go to the signing sessions there. I also went to the shops there and obviously got some awesome stuff. Let's have a look at all the things I got.


Goodiebag:

The first things I got out the goodiebag were promotional bookmarks. Those are always in bookish goodiebags. I'm not complaining though, because bookmarks always come in handy! There were also two book previews in the bag. On preview was from the book After by Anna Todd (a Wattpad original story). I'm not planning on reading After. It doesn't sound like something I would like. The other preview did make me curious. The preview was from Toffee by Sarah Crossan. The next item was an illustration of Jules from the book Evermore by Sara Holland. I don't own Evermore, but I really like the illustration!

Yalfest NL always include bookplates from the featured authors. So there was a booklplate from: Samira Ahmed, Nic Stone, Benjamin Alire Sáenz, Kristen Ciccarelli, Karen Mcmanus and Teri Terry.

Next, I got out the first book inculded in the back: A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab. In wasn't actually planning on reading it, but I've heard a lot of good things about it. So now that I own it, I am actually kinda curious! The second book was Orangeboy by Patrice Lawrence. I haven't heard anything about this book, so I'm really really excited about this one! The last "book" is a book in which you need to fill in the blanks yourself. The book is called Notes To My Future Self.

The last item was a pop socket with the cover of Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa on it! That's very original and I really like it!

The goodiebag was very fun and I'm happy with the included books!





Shops:

Because I told myself to spend less money on books, I ended up buying two books that were on sale.

I bought I See London, I See France by Sarah Mlynowski and a Dutch book called Heerestraat & Rozenlaan by Carlie van Tongeren.





Blurb from I See London, I See France :


Nineteen-year-old Sydney has the perfect summer mapped out. She’s spending the next four and half weeks traveling through Europe with her childhood best friend, Leela. Their plans include Eiffel-Tower selfies, eating cocco gelato, and making out with très hot strangers. Her plans do not include Leela’s cheating ex-boyfriend showing up on the flight to London, falling for the cheating ex-boyfriend’s très hot friend, monitoring her mother’s spiraling mental health via texts, or feeling like the rope in a friendship tug-of-war.

As Sydney zigzags through Amsterdam, Switzerland, Italy, and France, she must learn when to hold on, when to keep moving, and when to jump into the Riviera…wearing only her polka-dot underpants.


Blurb from Heerestraat & Rozenlaan :


Nina’s ouders zijn net gescheiden. Dat betekent niet alleen dat Nina vanaf nu elk weekend met een enorme weekendtas heen en weer moet fietsen tussen twee huizen, maar ook dat ze in sneltreinvaart moet wennen aan de nieuwe situatie. Aan de nieuwe vriendin van haar vader bijvoorbeeld, die twee kinderen heeft: Lindi (type valse stiefzus) en Mark (headbangende metalfan). En aan het feit dat haar moeder als een zombie-in-pyjama door het huis wandelt. Eigenlijk heeft Nina het al druk genoeg met voetbal, vriendinnen en haar laatste schooljaar – en nu komt dit er ook nog bij. Hoe moet ze dit in hemelsnaam allemaal tegelijk doen?


Did you buy books at Yalfest NL 2019? Let me know on my bookstagram (linked in my blog)! I still haven't figured out how I can let people comment on my blog post without having to sign up. So I will try to come up with something!


Until next time!


 

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page