top of page

Friends pick my 2021 TBR!

BYE 2020! I bet we're all glad it's a new year (although this year started terribly). I wish you all a happy and healthy 2021! May this year be a better year for everyone (and filled with many five-star book releases)!

I hope you all are safe and healthy.

Last year wasn't a great reading year. I was struggling to balance school time and free time, which resulted in more school time than free time. This year things are gonna be different (hopefully), because I will try to schedule some reading time.

My reading goal this year will be 20 books, once again. My goals have been bigger, but I don't think I'll be able to read 25 books without feeling pressured.

I was thinking about reading 15 books instead, but last minute I decided on keeping it at 20!


This year I wanted to choose my yearly TBR differently. I usually choose my TBR by picking the books I own the longest (like I did with my 2020 TBR).

For my 2021 TBR, I'm letting a few of my bookstagram friends pick my TBR! To make things even more fun, I decided to ask my sister to participate. She doesn't read so I'm excited to find out what she chooses! I also asked her to explain why she chose these books, so you'll get to read that too.

Thank you so much to all these wonderful people for helping me out!

I got this idea after Anniek from Anniekslibrary let bookstagram, their friend and their sister pick their TBR.

Without any further ado, here is what I'll be reading in 2021!


1. Let's Talk About Love - Claire Kann

2. Queens of Geek - Jen Wilde

3. The Black Flamingo - Dean Atta

4. Zomerburen - Rianne Robben

5. De Zwendelprins - Rima Orie

6. The Upside of Unrequited - Becky Albertalli


7. They Both Die at the End - Adam Silvera

8. Cress - Marissa Meyer

9. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe - Benjamin Alire Sáenz

10. Illuminae - Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

11. Clap When You Land - Elizabeth Acevedo


12. On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous - Ocean Vuong

13. Six of Crows - Leigh Bardugo

14. The Infernal Devices - Cassandra Clare

15. The Poet X - Elizabeth Acevedo


My ruman muhé (sister)

Thanks to my sis for choosing my books, even though she has never heard of most of these. XD I also asked her to explain

16. Jackpot - Nic Stone

"Because those curlssss on the cover! Love it!!"

17. Always and Forever, Lara Jean - Jenny Han

"Because I liked the movies and you always read the books before you see movies. So make sure to start this on time!"

18. Odd One Out - Nic Stone

"The synopsis appealed to me."

19. Wonder Woman: Warbringer - Leigh Bardugo

"Because the movie was good! And it's a book about a superhero, which you like. Also, I thought this list needed some suspense."

20. Slay - Brittney Morris

"Because slaaaaaay! *laughs* Also, it's probably a good story, lol."


If I happen to read more than 20 books, I'll read Frankly in Love by David Yoon (recommended to me by Flor) and Darius the Great is Not Okay by Adib Khorram (gifted to me by @bluescapebooks)!


If you like this idea, I might ask some other friends to pick my 2022 TBR once we reach the end of the year!


What are you planning on reading in 2021?

 

104 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page