top of page

Summer vacation TBR 2022

Updated: Aug 2, 2022

It's been a while since I last wrote a blog post. But summer vacation has started, which means I have more time on my hands. I have some blog posts I do annually and I'm always looking forward doing those annual posts. I will also be reading some Dutch original books, because I need to read more of those. Do you wanna know what I took with me last year? Read it here!


1. See You Yesterday - Rachel Lynn Solomon

AAAAARGH, I need to finish this ARC. It's been on my currently reading list for a couple of months now, but I finally feel ready to finish it. I hope I can complete and review it before my vacation ends. See You Yesterday is a story about two people who get stuck in a timeloop. What would you do if you had to relive the same day over and over again?


2. They Both Die at the End - Adam Silvera

I bought this book about two years ago and I should really read it at some point. I'm a little unsure if I'll be able to read it this summer, because I'm supposed to be reading it with a friend. But if she's done, we might start it soon! I hope to finish this book before the prequel comes out. The First to Die at the End sounds like an interesting story. Prequels (and sequels) can sometimes feel forced, but this one doesn't feel forced.


3. Our Crooked Hearts - Melissa Albert

This is an ARC that was gifted to me by my friend Dawnshaeé! I haven't had the time to finish it, considering I haven't even finished the ARC of See You Yesterday. But I'm not too busy during this summer vacation, I will definitely try to read this!


4. Confettiregen - Splinter Chabot [Dutch]

Confettiregen is a Dutch queer book about a boy struggling with being different than his brothers and classmates. I kinda hope that I will be able to use this book for a school curriculum next year. This book was on the list for this year's Juniors, so I'm gonna try to read it just in case I'm allowed to use it. But that's not the only reason I'm reading it, because I had this book before I saw the list for my writing class. I'm borrowing this book from a friend. We always exchange bookd, because we have the same taste. So that's a lot of fun!


5. Damn Honey - Marie Lotte Hagen, Nydia van Voorthuizen [Dutch]

Damn Honey is a pamphlet, so I'd be very surprised if I don't finish this during my summer vacation. This feminist book tackles different (societal) issues in a light-hearted way. It's 92 pages, so most likely easy to get through. This book was gifted to me for my birthday last year!


6. Aan de andere kant van geluk - Nadine Swagerman [Dutch]

Another queer story! (Are we surprised though?) Aan de andere kant van geluk is a book I've heard a lot of good things about. It's said to be sweet, but also emotional. This book has become very popular on bookstagram en Booktok too I think. And even though Booktok and I usually don't really have the same book taste, I think in this case we do.

Q: What are you reading this summer? Let me know! (I'm working on getting my comment section available for everyone. In the mean time you can answer my question via my Instagram!)

 

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page