top of page

My reading year: 2021

In just a few hours we will start a new chapter of the book called '2022'. 2020 and 2021 have felt like one year. The Netherlands ended 2020 in lockdown and now we are ending 2021 in a lockdown too! It's wild how I expected last year that this year things would be better. But alas the pandemic isn't over and yet and we are spending our year in and out of various lockdowns.


My book year really reflects how chaotic this year was. I read 12 books, which means I didn't reach my goal of 15 books.

I was the most active in August, which isn't surprising considering that's when I was on vacation. My most read genre was Romance! Well, according to The StoryGraph it's LGBTQIA+ and Young Adult, but both aren't really genres (even though YA is often seen as a genre).

I read a total of 6 ARCs and a total of 6 comics/graphic novels.

How many pages did I read? What was my first review?

Keep on reading to find out!



Reading goal

As I've said before, I read 12 books this year. I was trying to focus more on reading this year, but that was easier said than done. I ended up putting all focus into focusing on my new school. This year I finished my first year of a new university and started my second year. I'm proud of the amount of books I read this year. The important thing is that I got to read. That's what matters!


Year in books

According to Goodreads I read 2,730 pages across 12 books!

The most popular book I read was Heartstopper volume 2. It's been read by 174,531 Goodreads users. I'm not surprised because I absolutely loved it too! The least popular book was Sea of Kings. It's been read by 620 Goodreads users.

This year I read a lot of stories that I knew I'd love! So it's not a surprise that my average rating is this high! Some people think that you aren't critical enough if you give books a high rating. But I just think that means that you picked the right books for yourself! I hope that the new year will be filled with more five star ratings!


2021 TBR

At the beginning of the year I shared my 2021 TBR list on my blog. Let's see if I read any of the books on that list.

Looking at the list I wasn't shocked to find out that I read none of the books that my friends chose. The majority of the books I read this year were mostly short books or ARCs. These were the things I gravitated towards, so that's why I didn't follow the TBR list.

I know I always say that I will stick to them, but this year I really will try. I'm planning on requesting less eARCs, which is a big reason why I deviated from my list.


There are two more blog posts coming soon: my anticipated releases of 2022 and my 2022 TBR list! My annual TBR will be published on January 8th!


All of the books I read in 2021:

1. What's Up, Beanie: Acutely Relatable Comics - Alina Tysoe ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

2. Fence, Volume 2 - C.S. Pacat & Johanna the Mad ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

3. Cheer Up: Love and Pompoms - Crystal Frasier ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

4. Take a Hint, Dani Brown - Talia Hibbert ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

5. Waarom je niet zomaar moet stemmen waar je ouders op stemmen - Titia Hoogendoorn & Nienke Schuitemaker ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

6. Heartstopper, Volume 2 - Alice Oseman ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

7. Sea of Kings - Melissa Hope ( ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

8. The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina - Zoraida Córdova ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

9. Pet -Akwaeke Emezi ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆)

10. Oddball - Sarah Andersen ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

11. MonsterMind: Dealing with Anxiety & Self-Doubt -Alfonso Casas ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

12. Loveless - Alice Oseman ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)



 

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page