top of page

My Reading year: 2019

Updated: Dec 22, 2020

As we close the book that is 2019, we open a new one named 2020.

This is my last blog post in 2019... I can't believe it's almost 2020! So much has happened in a decade, it's crazy!

To end this year, I want to look back at my reading year! I may not have read an insane amount of books (sadly), but I'm still proud of the amount. It's a wonder I have found time to read anything (luckily I have spend a lot of time in trains, this year. In that period, I read quite a lot of pages per day).

I hope you had a good 2019 and I hope that you were introduced to many good books this year.

A happy new year, everyone!


Reading goal

Just like other years, I have a Goodreads reading goal. My goal was 25 books!

I thought that I could reach that goal. At the start of 2019 I even thought I was going to reach that goal with ease.

Well... apparently it wasn't easy.

In 2019 I read 21 books, which is 4 books less than my goal. Last year I didn't reach my goal of 30 books by reading 22 books.

This is my third year on Goodreads and I only reached my goal one time. In 2017 I surpassed my goal of 10 books, by reading 21 books.

I won't share my 2020 goal yet, but I'm determined to reach it this year. I will lower my goal, because 2020 will be a year full of final exams. That will be my main focus that year!


Year in books

According to Goodreads I read 6,093 across 21 books!

The most popular book I read was Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. It's been read by 2,988,014 Goodreads users. The least popular book was Star Wars: De Ruines van Alderaan - Deel 1 (De Ruins of Alderaan part 2). It's been read by 1 Goodreads user: me. That's because that book didn't exist on Goodreads, so I added it to the website myself.

The highest rated book on Goodreads was Heartstopper: Volume one by Alice Oseman was an average of 4.58 stars.




2019 TBR

At the start of 2019 I shared my 2019 TBR list on bookstagram. But how many books did I read from that list?

There were 25 books on that list. At the end of 2019 I had read 11 books from that list.

That's crazy? Makes you wonder why I even make these annual TBR's. But I still like to have a list to come back to when I don't know what to read!


All of the books I read in 2019:

1. Piper Perish - Kayla Cagan ( ☆ ☆, read my review here)


2. The Potion Diaries: Royal Tour - Amy Alward ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)


3. Art Boss - Kayla Cagan ( ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)


4. Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief - Rick Riordan ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)


5. City of Bones - Cassandra Clare ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)


6. Shatter Me - Tahereh Mafi ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)


7. Dear Martin - Nic Stone ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)


8. The Mighty Captain Marvel vol. 1: Alien Nation - Margaret Stohl, Ramon Rosanas ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my very short review here)


9. Destroy Me - Tahereh Mafi ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)


10. P.S. I Still Love You - Jenny Han ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)


11. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban - J.K. Rowling ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)


12. 36 Questions that Changed my Mind About You - Vicki Grant ( ☆ ☆, read my review here)


13. Heartstopper - Alice Oseman ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)


14. Kingdom of Souls (ARC) - Rena Barron ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)


15. Star Wars: De Ruïnes van Alderaan vol. 1 - Brian Wood, Ryan Kelly ( ☆ ☆ ☆ )


16. Star Wars: De Ruïnes van Alderaan vol. 2 - Brian Wood, Carlos D'Anda ( ☆ ☆ ☆ )


17. Flame in the Mist - Renée Ahdieh ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)


18. Volwassen worden is Optioneel - Marloes de Vries ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)


19. Star Wars: De Ruïnes van Alderaan vol. 3 - Brian Wood, Carlos D'Anda ( ☆ ☆ )


20. Wayfarer - Alexandra Bracken ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)


21. The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily - Rachel Cohn and David Levithan ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)


How was your reading year?




 

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page