top of page

My reading year: 2020

This year was definitely a rollercoaster ride. I didn't reach my reading goal of 20 books and that's okay. I read a total of 19 books, which I'm proud of!

Today I'm looking back at my reading year.

I hope that your 2021 is way better than this year. Thank you for being here and supporting me since 2017 on Instagram (and 2019 on my blog).

Reading goal

As I said, I read 19 books this year. It's a little less than last year, when I read 21 books. I wanted to end 2020 on a positive note, so I changed my Goodreads goal last minute to 19 books. I felt like I deserved that victory.

This was my fourth year on Goodreads! Time flies!

I want to stress that you don't have to read a lot. You don't have to set a reading goal either. Reading isn't a competition, it's a hobby.

I set my reading goal to motivate me. To challenge myself. Not to compare my reading to others. If you read 1 book this year, that's okay. If you read 400, that's okay too. No one should tell you that you read too much or don't read enough.

This year was a busy year with me graduating college and starting a new school, so I didn't have much time to read. That's totally fine. Reading should stay fun and not feel like a job.


Year in books

According to Goodreads I read 4,259 pages across 19 books!



The most popular book I read was Paper Towns. It's been read by 1,582,920 Goodreads users. The least popular book was You Don't Have to Be Everything. It's been read by 50 Goodreads users. It's funny how I hated the most popular book, while I loved the least popular book!

Apparently I was very nice this year with my reviews. Or I just read a lot of good books!

The highest rated book (that I read) on Goodreads was The Invincible Summer of Juniper Jones by Daven McQueen was an average of 4.49 stars. That's so deserved! That book ripped my heart out and brought me to tears!

2020 TBR

At the start of 2020 I shared my 2020 TBR list on my blog. But how many books did I read from that list?

There were 22 books on that list. At the end of 2020 I had read 1 book from that list. Well... this is embarrassing.

It love how I always make these lists, but never stick to them! But don't you worry, in 2021 I will come with a yearly TBR and this time, there is a fun twist! You can expect this TBR blog post on January 8th. And I promise that I'll do my best to stick to my TBR this time around. Especially because I love the way I chose my TBR this year!

Tomorrow you can expect a list of my anticipated releases of 2021. Next year will be filled with so many awesome new books and I literally can't wait!


All of the books I read in 2020:

1. Wayward Son - Rainbow Rowell ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

2. Goddess of the Hunt - Shelby Eileen ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

3. Gids voor de kantoorjungle (Dutch) - Japke-d Bouma ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

4. De Geur van Groen (Dutch) - Pamela Sharon ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

5. Long Way Down - Jason Reynolds ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

6. Mayhem (ARC) - Estelle Laure ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

7. All American Boys - Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

8. Fence volume 1 - C.S. Pacat and Johanna the Mad ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

9. The Year Shakespeare Ruined My Life (ARC) - Dani Jansen ( ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

10. Somebody Give This Heart a Pen (ARC) - Sophia Thakur ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

11. Grondvuur (Dutch) - Mirjam Gielen ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

12. I Wish You All the Best - Mason Deaver ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

13. Raybearer (ARC) - Jordan Ifueko ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

14. The Invincible Summer of Juniper Jones (ARC) - Daven McQueen ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

15. 3PAK (Dutch) - Daniëlle Bakhuis, Pepijn Lanen, Floor van het Nederend and

Johan Fretz

16. Quincredible volume 1: Quest to Be the Best (ARC) - Rodney Barnes, Selina Espiritu and Kelly Fitzpatrick ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

17. Happily Ever Afters (ARC) - Elise Bryant ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)

18. Paper Towns - John Green (☆, read my review here)

19. You Don't Have to Be Everything - Diana Whitney & multiple authors ( ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆, read my review here)


 

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page